Adsense Skyscrapper

2019 AFCON Starts Today


The African competition commence today in Egypt, with defending champions Cameroon looking to claim their second successive title.

The 32nd edition looks forward to 24 teams competing for the topmost glory.

Cameroon return as defending AFCON champions, having beaten Egypt 2-1 in the 2017 final.

The Indomitable Lions are out to defend their crown, but will face renewed pressure from hosts Egypt, who boasting Mohamed Salah still flying high after his Champions League win with Liverpool.

However, Salah’s Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mane is also in with a shout of glory with Senegal heavily backed to lift the trophy.


Egypt, Madagascar, Tunisia, Senegal, Morocco, Nigeria, Uganda, Mali, Guinea, Algeria, Mauritania, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Ghana, Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Guinea-Bissau, Namibia, Zimbabwe, DR Congo, Benin, Tanzania, South Africa.


Since the last competition in 2017, the biennial tournament has been expanded from 16 teams to 24. Countries have been drawn into six groups of four and will face each group opponent once.

The top two teams are guaranteed places in the knockout stages, while the four best third-place teams will also progress.

The¬†Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) is the biennial international men’s football championship of Africa organised by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

It will take place from June 21, 2019, to July 19, 2019, following the decision made by the CAF Executive Committee in June 2017 to move the Africa Cup of Nations from the January/February period to June/July for the first time.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.