Adsense Skyscrapper

Anthony Joshua Retains IBF, WBA Titles


Britain’s Anthony Joshua defended his WBA and IBF world heavyweight titles by wearing down a game Carlos Takam with a controversial 10th-round stoppage at a raucous Principality Stadium.

Joshua, 28, damaged his nose in a heavy head collision early on and did not have things all his own way against a fighter who took the bout at 12 days’ notice.

But in a key fourth round in which both men enjoyed success, Joshua dropped his man with a hook and badly damaged the eye of his rival.

Takam was twice inspected by ringside medics but battled on until he was overwhelmed in the 10th, when referee Phil Edwards stepped in to end the contest, much to the challenger’s frustration.

Takam, 36, was under pressure but not out on his feet and some inside the Cardiff venue booed the stoppage.

The crowd in Wales clearly felt the decision to stop the fight was premature, but Joshua said he had “no interest” in what the officials do.

“I come to fight. I don’t sit on the edge and make decisions,” he said. “It was a good fight until the ref stopped it, so I have the utmost respect for Takam.

“People want to see Takam unconscious on the floor, and that’s what I was trying to get to.”

BBC boxing correspondent Mike Costello agreed with the stoppage.

“I don’t have a problem with it,” he said. “Surely with the blood flowing the way it was, Takam could barely have seen.

“I’ve seen too many sob stories at this stage of a fight for me to complain about that stoppage.”

Takam said: “I want a rematch. I made my preparations with 12 days to fight Anthony. I want to box him again. I want him. He is a great champion.”

Source: BBC

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.