Adsense Skyscrapper

NPP’s longest serving Chair bows out

AFTER MANY years of faithful service to his beloved New Patriotic Party (NPP), the longest serving NPP chairman in the Tafo-Pankrono Constituency and the Ashanti Region, Moses Kwame Donkor, has finally bowed out.

Born and bred at Old Tafo in Kumasi in 1937, the NPP capo has dedicated virtually all his life to the service of the United Party (UP) tradition, which led to the formation of the NPP, his most adored party.

After going through the ranks of the party since its formative years in the early 1990’s, Chairman Donkor was unanimously elected as the NPP Chairman for Tafo-Pankrono, when the constituency was created in 2004.

Nicknamed in the political circles as the ‘Veteran Politician’, he has successfully led the Tafo-Pankrono constituency to become one of the most developed areas in the the Greater Kumasi area. The NPP has also become vibrant under his leadership.

Under his stewardship, the Veteran Politician helped to produce several top politicians for the NPP and by extension mother Ghana, which includes ex-Tafo-Pankrono MP, Anthony Akoto Osei and others.

Chairman Donkor, who contributed immensely to help the NPP to win the 2000, 2004, 2016 and 2020 presidential elections, has stated that it was time for him to hand over the baton to the young ones to continue.

“I would like to thank the New Patriotic Party for giving me the opportunity to serve, President Akufo-Addo for still lifting the values of the NPP high through service and patriotism, Former President Kufuor, for his legacy, Hon Akoto Osei for working and bringing development to Tafo-Pankrono, the current member of parliament, Hon Vincent Ekow Assafuah for his support and cooperation, I say thank you.

“I also thank our forebears, leaders, both former and present at the national, regional levels, my constituency executives, zonal coordinators and gallant polling station executives for their love and support”, he stated.

The Veteran Politician said “I gracefully hand over the baton to the next generation of Patriots. It is my firm belief that we will continue blazing this trail of progress for national development”.

He also thanked the paramount chief of Tafo, Nana Agyen Frimpong Ababio Okogyeadwa and Tafoman, the chief and odikro of Atafoa and Pankrono, Nana Kwado Arhin II and Nana Boakye respectively and Pankronoman for their support for him.

Comments are closed.