Bad Officiating Took Nigeria Out Of the Tournament – Drogba
Phoenix Rising and former Ivory Coast striker Didier Drogba has said bad officiating led to Nigeria’s ouster against Argentina at the ongoing FIFA World Cup in Russia on Tuesday.
The former Chelsea striker who spoke on BBC One said the referee favoured Argentina unjustly with the decision not to award the second penalty.
“I think it’s a bad decision from the referee not to give Nigeria a second penalty]. It’s the defender’s mistake – he didn’t read the ball well.
“It’s difficult to give the penalty because it would take Argentina out of the competition.”–he added.