Adsense Skyscrapper

By-Election Violence: 5-Member C’ttee Set Up


A five-member committee has been inaugurated to investigate last week’s Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election violence.

A signed statement by Director General of Public Affairs, ACP Mr David Eklu of the Ghana Police Service, said personnel from Police Professional Standards Bureau, Police Legal and Prosecution Directorate, Police Operations as well as detectives from the Police Crime Scene Unit and Airport Division have joined the probe.

The committee will be chaired by ACP George Tweneboah, Deputy-Director-General and will cover the professional and criminal conduct of those involved in the incident.

The Police also revealed that a statement form has also been issued to Ningo-Prampram MP, Mr. Samuel Nartey George, who was assaulted by some security officials, for his side of the story.

The Police also in the statement acknowledged the concerns raised by the Minority in Parliament and some section of the public as well as some civil society organisations and security analysts calling for a thorough investigations to be conducted by the CID to ensure the culprits behind the Ayawaso West Wuogon violence are made to face the full rigours of the law.

“The Police administration wishes to assure that it has taken notice of concerns raised by members of the public, Parliamentarians, Statesmen and reputable organisations among others and that thorough investigations will be conducted in line with the ongoing transformation agenda of the Police service aimed at ensuring the highest professional standards in the Ghana Police service,” the statement added.

The by-election of the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency on January 31 was characterized by violence, police report says 16 persons were injured by the incident.

Some masked security men suspected to be from the National Security Council storm the La Baweleshie polling station and assaulted some voters including the MP for Ningo-Prampram Sam George. The NDC withdraw from the election and refused to recognise the NPP candidate Lydia Alhassan who emerge winner of the election as the duly elected MP for the area.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.