Adsense Skyscrapper

NDC flagbearership Race: Mahama gets massive endorsement

Delegates of the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) have overwhelmingly endorsed former President John Dramani Mahama as their choice for Election 2020.

The former President as expected by many beat off competition from six other candidates namely Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin, Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, Prof. Joshua Alabi, Sylvester Mensah, Goosie Tanoh and Nurideen Iddrisu.

He runs away with 95.24% of the vote, leaving six others to squabble over less than 5% in a poll that involved about 330,000 NDC voters.

Former Vice-Chancellor of University of Professional Studies; Accra (UPSA), Prof. Joshua Alabi came second with 3,399 votes representing 1.516 per cent while cent while the Second Deputy Speaker and Member of Parliament for Nadowli/Kaleo, Mr Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin, came third with 2313 votes representing 1.032 per cent.

Mr Goosie Tanoh, a stalwart of the NDC, came fourth with 2038 votes representing 0.909%.

Former Trades and Industry Minister in the Mahama government, Ekwow Spio Garbrah came fifth with 1457 votes which represent 0.650 per cent of the total votes.

Former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA), Mr Sylvester Mensah got 932 votes representing 0.415 per cent while businessman, Nurudeen Iddrisu polled a paltry 519 votes representing 0.231 per cent.

Mr Spio-Garbrah and Prof Alabi, have conceded defeat and congratulated Mr Mahama.

“Congratulations President John Dramani Mahama. Together, we win 2020”, Mr Spio-Garbrah’s message read.

“Congratulations President John Dramani Mahama. We will fight 2020 together”, Prof Alabi’s message read.

About Mahama:

Mahama having served as President already for a term will be eligible to serve only another term if he wins the 2020 presidential elections.

John Mahama served as President of Ghana from 24 July 2012 to 7 January 2017. He previously served as Vice President of Ghana from 2009 to 2012 and took office as President on 24 July 2012 following the death of his predecessor, John Atta Mills.

He contested re-election for a second term in the 2016 election but was defeated in the first round by New Patriotic Party candidate Nana Akufo-Addo who is the current President.

Mahama is a communication expert, historian, and writer. He was a Member of Parliament from 1997 to 2009 and Minister of Communications from 1998 to 2001.

Comments are closed.