Adsense Skyscrapper

SWAG Awards: Partey Wins Footballer of The Year


Ghana international Thomas Partey was named Footballer of the Year at the 43rd Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) awards on Friday at the International Conference Center.

Partey’s incredible display for club and country for the year under review earned him the prestigious award.

Partey was a member of the Ghana side that reached the semi-finals of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon. The swift growing midfielder is currently the most influential Black Stars player having scored 5 goals in 15 games for Ghana.

The Atletico Madrid star battled with the likes of Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC), Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England) and Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia) for the 2017 Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) footballer of the Year award.

In an interview on Asempa FM’s Ultimate Sports Show, Thomas said, “Ghanaians will decide who will win the 2017 SWAG player of the year Award but I believe I have done a lot of work that needs to be appreciated”.

“I believe I deserve it, because I have been very consistent in my form,” he added.

The 43rd Awards ceremony took place at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC).

WBO super bantamweight/junior featherweight champion Isaac Dogboe was named Sports Personality of the Year while Thomas Abbey saw off competition from Berekum Chelsea Striker Stephen Sarfo and Kotoko’s Amos Frimpong to win the best locally-based player award.

Thomas Abbey was Hearts of Oak’s most exciting player last year, notching up 13 goals in 27 league matches for the Phobians who finished second in the MTN FA Cup.


Below is the full list of winners

1. Haruna Tahiru – Para-Athlete of the year. (Armwrestling)

2. Alhassan Okine – Kickboxer of the year.

3. Anthony Boafo Danquah Boakye – Cyclist of the year

4. Richard Amanor – Volleyball player of the year

5. Grace Atipaka – Female Badminton player of the year

6. Emmanuel Yaw Donkor – Male Badminton player

7. Vincent Torgah – Golfer of the year.

8. Salia Nsabila – Hockey player of the year

9. Christian Amoah – Weightlifter of the year

10 George Bankole (Handball) – Dedication & Valour

11. Ofori Asare (Boxing) – Dedication & Valour

12. Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady strikes/ black maidens) – Discovery of the year

13. David Akwei (weightlifter) – Discovery of the year

14. Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestler) – Discovery of the year

15. Ampem Darkoa Ladies – Female team of the year

16. Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor – Special Awards

17. Alex Asante – Special Awards

18. Dr KD Asante – Special Awards

19. Dr Martin Engman – Special Awards

20. Dr Paa Kwesi Ndoum – Special Awards

21. David Abanga – Most promising Star

22. Herbert Mensah (rugby) – Association President of the year

23. Yusif Abubakar – Coach of the Year

Source: Starrfmonline

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.