Adsense Skyscrapper

NDC Race: Mahama leads In Major sectors


The Electoral Commission (EC) certified results from across many Constituency in the country has seen John Mahama emerging winner.

Polls have closed in many Constituencies at least some three hours before the official closing time.The results show John Mahama beating the other six aspirants.

The last time the NDC went into a competitive presidential election was in 2006 when the party had four candidates.

They were the late former President John Evans Atta Mills, Mr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, Alhaji Iddrisu Mahama and Eddie Annan. In that election, Prof. Mills won with Mr Spio-Garbrah getting the second slot.

But today’s primary will be the first time former President Mahama, who is highly tipped to win, is facing internal competition to become the flag bearer of the NDC.

If he succeeds based on the ground swell of support, he will become the first former President under the Fourth Republican dispensation to be seeking to reclaim the power he lost to current President Nana Akufo-Addo in the 2016 election.

Mr Mahama, then Vice President, became President in July 2012 when the sitting President, J.E.A. Mills, died. He became the flag bearer of the NDC at the 2012 polls and won but lost eventually at the 2016 polls.

In both the 2012 and 2016 elections, Mr Mahama went unopposed and for that matter was endorsed by the party as he had no challenger.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.